Good Food and Wine Show- The Review

gold-star-2-1gold-star-2-1

This Saturday I went to the good food and wine show, and this is what I thought about it……

DSC_2131

We arrived on the clock as the doors opened and inside there was a Diverse variety of different wines and food stalls. Wines from all over the country and food types from every corner of the earth.

The things I enjoyed the most was the array of beautiful cakes from wedding to birthday cakes, that were stunning1

, DSC_2169DSC_2170 DSC_2166

Not to Mention the life sized rhino cake that was made by a team that included Cake Boss, and believe it or not All the proceeds made from every slice bought at R20 went to Charity!  And If you have ever wondered if those huge cakes he makes on his shows are tasty and not just pretty, well I have your answer, it is yummy and moist!!

DSC_2157

I also enjoyed watching Chef Harry Sideropolis showing us how to make a mouth-watering home made burger patty. That I will be trying out soon! While I was watching him do his magic at the Goldcrest Stand, they gave me one on these babies as a tasty

DSC_2145

This Canape is so easy to make, simply take a cracker, smear on fig jam add a small piece of blue cheese, a little micro green and Volar! Nice for guests or just as a snack!

They were also busy making a life size car out of cake….enough said

DSC_2149

My favourite exhibitors of the day included Candy-licious, it was filled with all those commercial American sweets like M & M’s, Nerds, Herseys and some other novelty sweeties.

Another was Leafy Greens Café, this is a restaurant that does healthy and organic foods, I tried a piece of Cheese cake that tasted just as good as normal cheese cake if not better and it had no sugar or eggs in it.

Gourmet fudge was fantastic, all different flavours of fudge, I tried them and I loved them, my favourite was the milk tart fudge. This is there facebook page:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gourmet-Fudge/151831581634355

I also managed to meet Jenny Morris and Reza Mahammed and even though I tasted buddies cake I didn’t  get meet him

Arriving early to the show had its benefits, as 2 hours in it Was absolutely packed and it was almost impossible to move or get to the exhibitors, I wasn’t even able to taste one sip of wine because it was chock a block full with all the people around the wine stalls. I did expect to get more tastys from all the exhibitors so that was a little disappointing Not being able to try new things without having to buy a whole meal, the ones that did give samples I loved….and I remember

My highlights were the beautiful cakes. I would have loved more samples and preferred quality over quantity so that there could be more space in the aisles to move around or a bigger venue. So even though it was a nice day out I did expect more from this event so That’s why I have given this event 2 stars out of 5

DSC_2159

One thought on “Good Food and Wine Show- The Review

Leave a Reply

